Gagik Hovunts


He was born in 1930 in Yerevan. In 1954 he graduated from the Yerevan Conservatory, the class of violin of K. Dombaev, and in 1957 - the class of compositions after G. Yeghiazarian. Since 1984 he has lectured in the Yerevan Conservatory.

Concert for piano with symphonic orchestra (1986)
Invention for symphonic orchestra (series N1 1968, series N2 1970, series N3 1971)
Concert invention for violoncello with orchestra (1976).
Concert for violin with symphonic otchestra (1980)
Consert invention for piano with orchestra (1974)
Choreographic pieces for symphonic orchestra (1992)

For the wood-wind (1969)
For the brass wind-instruments (1975)
For string instruments (1972)
String quartet (1960)
Sonata for violin and violoncello (1981)
Sonata for piano N1 (1977) and N2 (1982)
12 preludes for piano (1965)
Piece fro flute and piano (1984)
10 monogramic pieces (1989)

His works were performed in Yerevan, Moscow, Petrozavodsk, Odessa, Minsk, Tbilisi, Riga, Tallin, Praha, Donetsk, Paris, Baku, Alma-Ata.

A member of the Composers’ Union of Armenia.