Melik Mavisakalian


A talanted composer who created almost in all music genres, including jazz, requiring a good music taste and temperament.

He concretely and laconically expressed his ideas in the sonata for violin and organ. In his “Non-stopping bell tower” on the poem after Parujr Sevak one can feel the pain for the loss of the Great Komitas.

He was born in 1937 in Yerevan. In 1961 he graduated from the Yerevan Conservatory, the class of violin after E. Smbatian, and in 1962 - the class of compositions after E. Mirzoian.

Symphonic and vocal-symphonic works
“Concert for orchestra” (1975)
“The Avarayr battle” (1962)
“Requiem” (1965)
“Peace to the world” (1967)
“Glory friendship” (1968)
“Non-stoping bell tower” (1969)
Concert for violin (1970)
Concert-fantasy for the ensemble of violinists (1972)

No1 (1980)
No2 (1989)

Sonata for violin and organ (1987)
Sonata for violin solo
Sonata for violoncello solo
Chorus works
Music for film and variety
Music for theatre

A member of the Composers’ Union of Armenia.